Monday, December 16, 2013

Here There Be Monsters review

burning up cover

Here There Be Monsters by Meljean Brook is an Iron Seas series novella that first appeared in the Burning Up anthology printed but was released as a stand alone ebook in October. It is technically the second story in the series but I read it after reading The Iron Duke, the first full length novel in the Iron Seas series

Here There Be Monsters stars Mad Machen and Ivy, who readers of the Iron Duke will recognize and it also has a prominent role for Lady Corsair. It's a fun novella and I enjoyed learning more about the characters that briefly appeared in The Iron Duke

Brook keeps with the wonderful steampunk world of the Iron Seas series and heavily features automaton creations, kraken, and Megs which are all important parts of the entire series. Here There Be Monsters is an entertaining and interesting glimpse of the Iron Seas series and should make any reader want to delve more deeply into the world Brook masterfully creates.


Two years ago, blacksmith Ivy, desperate to flee London, purchased her overseas passage by agreeing to spend the voyage in the bed of the pirate captain, Mad Machen. Saved at the last minute by his rival, Ivy scraped out a new life in Fool’s Cove…until Mad Machen finds her, forces her to accept a job that will create a monster, and reminds her that she still owes him the price of a journey…

No comments:

Post a Comment